Правило Спинозы: не плакать, не смеяться, а понимать. (О книге Орландо Файджеса “Народная трагедия: Русская революция 1891-1924 г.г.), публ. Бодлей Хауз, 2014 г., 923 стр.

A People's Tragedy, Orlando Figes, 2014Известный русский историк, историограф, писатель, поэт Николай Михайлович Карамзин (1766-1826 г.г.) в своём предисловии к 12-томной “Истории государства Российского” написал:

“История, в некотором смысле есть священная книга народов: главная, необходимая; зеркало их бытия и деятельности; скрижаль откровений и правил; завет предков к потомству; дополнение, изъяснение настоящего и пример будущего”. Он закончил свой труд Том 12, Глава 5. Междоцарствование. 1611-1612 г.г.

В дальнейшем предпринималось много попыток описать историю различными авторами: русскими и нерусскими.

Передо мной сейчас лежит книга “Народная трагедия” одного из лучших современных британских писателей, профессора истории Орландо Файджес, который всю жизнь пишет о России. Он единственный автор, дважды попавший в шортлист главной английской литературной премии Сэмюиела Джонсона за нон-фикшин в 2003 году за книгу “Танец Наташи. Культурная история России”, и в 2008 году за исследование “Шепчущие: частная жизнь в сталинской России”. За книгу “Народная трагедия” Файджес получил пять различных литературных премий.

Ни одна из этих книг пока не вышла на русском языке, хотя многие из них переведены на более, чем 20 языков народов мира.

Файджис, пожалуй, знает больше и лучше, чем кто бы то ни было, об отношении россиян к истории своей страны.

Он дал интервью журналу “Сноб” в Лондоне спустя неделю после того, как президент Дмитрий Медведев призвал ООН присоединиться к борьбе о “Фальсификации истории”, и спустя месяц после того, как Европа впервые отметила “День памяти жертв нацизма и сталинизма”.

Один из основных сюжетов книги “Народная трагедия” – это рассказ о том, что где-то с июля 1917 года Ленин делал всё возможное, чтобы началась гражданская война. Он считал, что гражданская война необходима для революции. Однако, по-прежнему в ходу модель: Ленин – хороший, Сталин – плохой.

Неверно. Оба лидера одинаково ответственны за кровавые последствия революции, включая Троцкого и иже с ним, которых Лев Давыдович упоминает в своей книге “История Русской революции”, 1931 г.

Очень жаль, что до сих пор не нашлось достойного Российского историка подобного Карамзину, который бы посвятил свою жизнь описанию истории государства Российского, продолжая с 1611-1612 г.г.

А Орландо Файджес мы только искренне благодарим за его огромный труд и попытки понять русскую историю, что помогает расширить наш кругозор и панораму событий через личностные восприятия таких героев, как Брусилов, принц Львов, Горький (Пешков), и др.

Смотри фильм : “Это мы, Господи!”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/58/3931958/tmp/sess_srhh5pgrh78vbopgvkmlvnuof6, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0

Spinoza’s Rule: Do not Weep, Do not Laugh but Understand (About the Book “A People’s Tragedy: The Russian Revolution 1891-1924” by Orlando Figes, The Bodley Head, 2014, 923 pages

A People's Tragedy, Orlando Figes, 2014The renown Russian historian, historiographer, writer and poet Nikolay Mikhailovich Karamzin (1766-1826) in his preface to the 12-volume book The History of the Rossiysky State” wrote:

“The history in a sense is the holy book of peoples: the main, necessary; the mirror of their entity and activities; book of revelations and standards;behest of ancestors to the posterity; supplement, explanation of the present and an example of the future”. He finished his work with Volume XII, Chapter V. Inter-reign. 1611-1612.

Since then there were made many attempts to describe the history by many authors, Russian and non-Russian.

In front of me lies the book “A People’s Tragedy” by one of the best modern British writers, Professor of History Orlando Figes, who writes about Russian all his life. He is a unique author who twice happened to be in the shortlist of the main English Literature prize of Samuel Jonson for non-fiction in 2003 for the book “Natasha’s Dance. Cultural History of Russia” and in 2008 for the research “Whisperers: Private Life in Stalin’s Russia”. For the book “A People’s Tragedy”  Figes got five different Literature prizes.

Not a single book of his came out in Russian, albeit many of them were translated to more than 20 languages of the world. Figes very likely knows more and better than anybody else about the relation of the Russian people to the history of their own country.

He gave an interview to the magazine “Snob” in London one week after the Russian President Dmitry Medvedev call the UN to join the fight “About Falsification of the History”, and one month after the first time in Europe commemoration of “The Memorial day of the Victims of Nazism and Stalinism”.

One of the main subjects of the book “A People’s Tragedy” – this is the story about that how starting since July 1917 Lenin did all possible to start the civil war. He considered that the civil war is nesessary for the revolution. However there is still an expression model: “Lenin – good, Stalin – bad”.

It’s wrong. Both leaders are equally responsible for bloody consequences of the revolution, including Trotsky ilk others whom Lev Davidovich mentioned in his book “The History of the Russian revolution”, 1931.

It’s very pity that till now there is no decent Russian historian like Karamzin who would dedicate all his life to the description of the history of the Rossiysky state continuing from 1611-1612.

As for Orlando Figes, we just express our sincere gratitude for his great work and attempts to understand the Russian history, for that he helps to broaden our outlook and panorama of events through the personal perception of such heros as Brusilov, Prince Lvov, Gorky (Peshkov) and others.

Watch movie :“It’s We, O Lord!”

Leave a Comment


Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/58/3931958/tmp/sess_umrbtnelo28sekqr3pq8drdso6, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0